Young Adult Databases


Free Online Resources

Audible.com is offering free listening to audio books throughout this time. There are books for all levels of readers: children through adult including tween, teen, and classics.

Tumblebooks free trial – not just children’s books, but also teens and adult: one free trial per school.

Heggan library now has more options from Tumblebooks:

YouTube Learning: Links to a variety of educational videos presented on YouTube from math, science, language arts, and history. Timeline world history, National Geographic, BBC Earth, Biography, Discovery Education, and TED-Ed can all be found here. Links are grouped by general levels: age 13+, age 5+, and preschool.

YouTube: By doing some general searches like “authors reading,” you’ll find authors doing just that. There are many authors and illustrators using YouTube to present parts or all of their books, but also to offer lessons about their craft.

Suzanne Collins reading chapter one of Mockingjay

Jason Reynolds reading from Ghost

Jarod Krosoczka, Author and illustrator for children and YA books — YouTube channel lessons for students on illustrating and more

Riveted by Simon teen: free YA ebooks and excerpts to read this month

LibriVox: All FREE public domain audiobooks

Lit2Go: Lit2Go is a free online collection of stories and poems in audiobook format. Playing time and word counts are given. Each reading passage can be downloaded as a PDF.

Mind Webs: A free Internet archive of over 150 of the most classic science fiction short stories from Ursula K. Le Guin and Kurt Vonnegut to H.G. Wells.

Open Culture: 1000 free audiobooks, streams, and videos organized in alphabetical order by author with the varying formats available.

Storynory: Classics and fairytales that can be listened to and/or read if one chooses.

Scholastic Learn at Home lessons for K-12. The link to grades 6-12 now has four weeks of lessons. They’re adding as we go through this. https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html
Free NYTimes for high schools and high schools students through July 6

Calendar of Virtual Field Trips for families

Sites for Families to use while school is closed – all grades

Growing Book by Book – mostly younger, some older – scroll through: lots of links and stories read by authors


Databases

The library provides a diverse collection of online databases. Simply click on a database to be directed to the online database in question. If you are prompted for a library card number enter your full 14 digit number with no spaces (the one exception being the Salem databases which need only the last 6 digits). If your card is not a Margaret E. Heggan Free Public Library card or your card is expired or has fines you may be unable to access a database. Contact the library if you are unsure.

Database/Scholarly Article Terms and Definitions

Peer Review

Peer Review is a process by which other scholars evaluate a work.  The is a measure to ensure the accuracy of the data and the quality of the work, a means of self-regulating scholarly literature.


Full Text

If an article is provided by a database as Full Text it is available to read in its entirety on the database.  The alternative is an abstract, where a citation is provided, informing the reader how to seek out the full article.

Infobase
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Offers fast access to more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Focuses on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, Asia, and Islamic Empire from prehistory through the 1500s.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Facts on File
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Explora is EBSCO’s interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:

  • Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
  • Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
  • Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
  • Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
  • Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
  • Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
  • Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Accessible From: Home & Library
NewsBank
Find archived information on issues and events, business, education, government, politics and more.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Gives clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.
Accessible From: Home & Library
LearningExpress Library provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You’ll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Examples of practice tests are Civil Service, Graduate School Entrance examinations, Nursing, Real Estate, TOEFL, and U.S. Citizenship.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Facilitates the study of countries, U.S. states, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills through a global approach.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Scroll to Top