CATALOG QUICK SEARCH
 
 
SIMPLE SEARCH
ADVANCED SEARCH
Your Library Account
Renew Materials

Library Elf
JerseyCat

Databases by Subject

 


The library provides a diverse collection of online databases.  These are all accessible via our website through the “Databases” menu in the navigation bar.  These databases are organized both alphabetically and by subject.  Simply click on a database to be directed to the online database in question.  If you are prompted for a library card number enter your full 14 digit number

Online Databases
All Databases in Alphabetical Order
Databases by Subject
General Reference
Business and Economics eLending Health and Medicine
History and Social Sciences Learn from Home Newspapers
Politics and Law Science and Mathematics Writing and Literature
Online Databases for Young Adults
General Reference
History and Social Sciences Science and Mathematics Writing and Literature
Online Databases for Children
General Reference
English Math Science
Social Studies

The library provides a diverse collection of online databases.  These are all accessible via our website through the “Databases” menu in the navigation bar.  These databases are organized both alphabetically and by subject.  Simply click on a database to be directed to the online database in question.  If you are prompted for a library card number enter your full 14 digit number with no spaces (the one exception being the Salem databases which need only the last 6 digits).

If your card is not a Margaret E. Heggan Free Public Library card or your card is expired or has fines you may be unable to access a database. Contact the library if you are unsure.

Database/Scholarly Article Terms and Definitions

Peer Review Peer Review is a process by which other scholars evaluate a work.  The is a measure to ensure the accuracy of the data and the quality of the work, a means of self regulating scholarly literature.
Full Text If an article is provided by a database as Full Text it is available to read in its entirety on the database.  The alternative is an abstract, where a citation is provided, informing the reader how to seek out the full article.