Library cards are issued to applicants aged 3 and over. Children must be present to receive a card. Parental signature required for age 17 and under. There is no fee for new applicants who:
- have current ID showing residency in Washington Township
- work in Washington Township Public Schools
- are Washington Township municipal employees
- own a property or business in Washington Township
- are Gloucester County employees working in Washington Township
- are employed by a nonprofit organization located in Washington Township
There is a yearly fee for any non-county resident not covered above. Gloucester County residents may use their library card from their home library.
The library is a member of LOGIN, a consortium of libraries in Gloucester County. You may use your Margaret Heggan Library card at any partner library in Gloucester County.
Cards are renewed every two years. ID must be shown. DO NOT DISCARD YOUR CARD.
Cards can be replaced for a $3.00 fee.
You may still check out materials if you have forgotten your card with an unexpired government issued form of photo identification, such as a driver's license.
Do not lend your card to another person. You are responsible for all materials borrowed on your card. Family members should use their own cards when borrowing. You may not use another person’s card if your card is invalid.
Your card will be restricted if you have any overdue items or if you owe fines over $5.00. You may not use another person’s card if your card is restricted.
Lost or Damaged Materials
Borrowers must pay for lost items and for materials damaged beyond normal wear. Patrons must pay for the lost or damaged item at the library. Replacement copies are not accepted. If it is found and returned in acceptable condition within 30 days, your money will be refunded. Refund checks take about 4 to 6 weeks to be mailed.
3 weeks: 7 days for high demand items.
Allowed if there is no waiting list on the book, 3-week renewal period, limit of 1 renewal.
May renew by phone or online.
No renewals on interlibrary loans.
Total of 25 items per person.
During times of high demand we may restrict borrowing in a given subject area to 2 items/subject/family.
You may place a hold on a book that is circulating. When it is returned, you will be called or emailed and given 3 days to pick it up. If you do not pick up in 3 days, your name is removed. You must call or go online to be put back on the list. Your name will be added to the bottom. A message left on an answering machine or with a person at your home will be considered notification.
25 cents/day/book: based on the length of time overdue, not the value of the item. Max $5.00/item.
Same as books.
Same as books, except current issues, and some titles do not circulate. Newspapers do not circulate.
Total of 25 items per person. This includes all materials.
Same as books.
$1.00 DVD/day; based on the length of time overdue not the value of the item.
Borrower must be age 18 or over to borrow feature films PG13 or higher.
CHILDREN AND THE LIBRARY
Please be aware of our policies concerning children in the Margaret E. Heggan Free Public Library:
- Children are the responsibility of the parent while in the library or on library property.
- Staff members do not act as caregivers or baby-sitters, nor do we assume any responsibility for unattended children of any age. Children under the age of 12 must be supervised by an adult age 18 or older.
- If a child is disruptive, ill or injured, staff will ask the parent to properly supervise or remove the child. If a parent is not present, the staff will attempt to phone them to remove the child. If a parent cannot be reached, the police may be called.
- Parents are responsible for picking up children before closing time. If you are going to be detained, make other arrangements for your children to be picked up. Our building is locked promptly at closing time. There is no one available to supervise children who are not picked up.
- Parents are required to stay in the library while their children attend programs.
- Telephone use: children are only allowed to use the library phone to call for rides home.
- Parents are responsible for supervising their children in the use of the library and its materials, including the Internet. Lost or damaged materials are the responsibility of the parent.
- The library does not assume responsibly for materials used, borrowed, or accessed by children which their parents may find objectionable.
- Library card applications must be signed by a parent or guardian for any child age 17 and under before a card is issued. The child must be present when the card is issued.
RULES OF CONDUCT FOR LIBRARIES
Some activities not allowed in the
library include but are not limited to the following
- Eating or drinking.
- Playing of audio equipment so that others can hear it.
- Carrying a weapon into the library unless authorized by law. Any patron authorized to
carry a weapon must notify library staff that he/she is carrying a weapon in the library.
- Bringing animals into the library except those needed to assist a patron with a disability.
- Misusing the restrooms (i.e. using as a laundry or washing facility).
- Leaving young children unattended in the library.
- Talking loudly, making noise or engaging in other disruptive conduct, including but not limited to the use of cell phones.
- Interfering with another person's use of the library or with the library personnel's performance of their duties.
Shoes and shirts must be worn
Library privileges may be limited for the following reasons:
- Damaging library property.
- Stealing library materials.
- Physically harming staff or patrons.
- Owing fines.
- Having overdue material.
- Violating our Internet policies.
- Inappropriate behavior that inhibits customers or staff from using the facility for its intended purposes.